Winners to be honored at APCO’s annual Awards Dinner in Arlington, VA

Alexandria, VA – The Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO) International announces the recipients of its prestigious 2022 Public Safety Communications Leadership in Policy Awards, who will be honored during APCO’s annual Public Safety Communications Leadership Dinner in Arlington, VA, on November 2, 2022.

The Awards Dinner is an opportunity to honor individuals who have contributed significantly to the field of public safety communications and reflect upon the successes of our community as a whole.

The award winners are:

Leadership in Advocacy Award
Commissioner Adam Thiel
Fire Commissioner, City of Philadelphia
Director, Philadelphia Office of Emergency Management

Leadership in Regulatory Service Award
Ethan Lucarelli
Legal Advisor to Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel
Federal Communications Commission

Leadership in Legislative Service Award
The Honorable Richard Hudson
U.S. House of Representatives

Leadership in Advancing Communications Policy Award
Gerald Leverich
Chief Counsel, Communications and Technology, Committee on Energy and Commerce
U.S. House of Representatives

Award recipients will be recognized by members of the public safety community, government and industry during the dinner held at the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel in Arlington, VA.

“Congratulations to this deserving group of individuals who have shown a commitment to advancing public safety communications,” said APCO International President Angela Batey. “We appreciate their dedication and look forward to their continued contributions as we work together to improve emergency communications.”

For information about the Awards Dinner, visit A portion of the proceeds from this event goes to the continued support of the Public Safety Foundation of America, which focuses on improving public safety services to our communities.