No announcement yet.

APCO 2019: Connect & Celebrate Dinner

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • APCO 2019: Connect & Celebrate Dinner

    APCO 2019 was gaveled to an end Wednesday during the Connect and Celebrate dinner at the Baltimore Convention Center. The new executive committee was sworn in along with the regional and Commercial Advisory Council Representatives. The outgoing and incoming presidents assessed lessons learned and their hopes for the future of the preeminent public safety communications association.

    Headliner Taylor Mason with ventriloquist dummy Romeo and swing musical group Michael Andrew and Swingerhead entertained APCO attendees.

    Outgoing president Holly E. Wayt swore in the 2019-2020 Regional and Commercial Advisory Council representatives: Frank Thomason of the East Coast Region; Angela Bowen of the Gulf Coast Region; Sheila Blevins of the Western Region; Matthew Franke of the North Central Region; and Derrick Duggins of the Commercial Advisory Council.

    Wayt swore in the new executive committee of President Tracey M. Hilburn, First Vice President Margie Moulin, and Second Vice President Jason E. Kern. Martha K. Carter rotated off the executive committee.

    Now in the position of immediate past president, Wayt gave a farewell speech thanking those who helped make her tenure a success. She cited work on the Emergency Communications Center Crisis Response Task Force and opening up lines of communication between the leadership and members.

    “I truly believe we have achieved those goals. We listened to what was important to our members, enacted positive changes for the association, ensured that APCO retains its status as a leader in our industry and remained cognizant in our financial decisions,” Wayt said.

    For her part, Hilburn challenged APCO members to pitch in with the work and mission of the association.

    “I encourage each of you to engage in committee work, work groups, task forces and standards development as calls for participation are presented, as these groups are the key to building a broad perspective of knowledge and excellence, allowing for guidance into this new era,” Hilburn said.

    She said the new era entails “utilization of multi-media, encompassing interoperability, new technological features and functions, and the need for cybersecurity protection.”

    Hilburn also pledged her commitment to APCO’s national goals, including:
    • Changing the public safety telecommunicator classifications from administrative to protective service
    • NG9-1-1 funding along with rules helpful to public safety communications in the radio spectrum and location accuracy
    • Forging interoperability at the local, state and national level.